Events


FRO 2014: Opening night and the 4th wall exhibition launch Get you tickets Join the event on Facebook   The 4th Wall: Make the Invisible Visible is a project of the Michaëlle Jean Foundation, with the collaboration of several prestigious museums, supported by TD Bank Group and the FRO foundation. The goal is to give a voice to and a national profile to young creators, often excluded from society, by opening the doors of our major cultural institutions and by helping them to reach a wide audience. What is the 4th Wall? In theatre, the 4th wall is an imaginary screen that creates a virtual separation between actor and spectator. Painting and the visual arts in general establish, between artwork and the public, a similar device that requires a frontal reading, evidence that might be an illusion of transparency: that which Magritte called the betrayal of images, when he painted a hyperrealist pipe and wrote on the same painting, “This is not a pipe.” A Provocative Undertaking There are therefore many ways to cross the 4th wall and to make the invisible visible. The Michaëlle Jean Foundation chose to invite young creators to break down the invisible walls that create solitudes between individuals and communities across Canada. In that spirit, the Foundation is offering museum space and bursaries to youth from disadvantaged backgrounds, often cut off from museums, so that they can produce original art that conveys their experiences, ideas and challenges. On display for the public to see, their work provokes debate and builds solutions. A National Conversation Public forums, networking and virtual exchanges will also be organized to ignite and sustain national dialogue on the social issues raised by the exhibitions. The results will undoubtedly confront clichés and challenge received ideas, while reminding us of universal values like justice, beauty, liberty, spirituality and the march of history. From there will emerge the ideal of a more cohesive, solidarity-based society, liberated from the shackles of inequality and injustice. 4th Wall Exhibitions Near You Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, Montreal, from February 5 to March 30, on the occasion of Black History Month and FRO Festival 2014. Launch to be held on Feb. 5, 2014, at 5 pm. at 1379 Sherbrooke St. West. Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO), Toronto, Summer 2014, on the occasion of World...

Read More
FRO Festival  2014

FRO Festival 2014


Posted By on Jan 3, 2014

FRO, this young and innovative concept has created bridges between cultures and generations. Given the interest in the first edition, the success of it, the clear need for sharing and education FRO back with the FRO festival 2014 and expects to offer you much more. FRO Festival 2014 is presented by TD then and now and BAND, in partnership with the Michaelle Jean Foundation and the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. FRO 2014: Opening night Get you tickets Join the event on Facebook Compilation FRO 2014 release + Afua Cooper Get you tickets  Join the event on Facebook Kathleen Cleaver @ FRO 2014 Get you tickets  Join the event on...

Read More

Saturday December 7th @ 1:00 pm • 12$ @ Blueprint • Metro: Place des arts • 1438 de Bleury st., Montreal • Natural Skin Care workshop & personal skin consultations • Natural Winter Hair Care workshop & personal hair consultations • Interactive presentations and live skin care • Learn how to nourish your skin from the inside out (nutrition, herbs and natural products) • Learn about the most common skin ailments and learn how to effectively treat them naturally • Learn how to keep your hair healthy over the winter. • Individual skin care consultations with a certified naturopath and skin expert • Individual hair consultations with a curl expert. • Learn how to make your own natural, exfoliating and skin nourishing scrub • Natural skin care & hair care products available for purchase Join the event on...

Read More
CHALLENGE – 4th WALL

CHALLENGE – 4th WALL


Posted By on Oct 11, 2013

SEVEN $1500 BURSARIES For young artists Aged 17 – 30 From Montreal’s Black Communities Application deadline: October 30th 2013 To apply, contact: info@fmjf.ca or 613.562.751...

Read More

    Presented by the FRO Foundation in collaboration with La Bonne Bouffe Creole 18h-20h Visit exhibitor’s Booth + Creating live by Monk-e + Food by Bonne Bouffe Créole 20h-22h30 Projection of the documentary Black Power Mixtape (French subtitle) + Video conference with TOMMIE SMITH Powered by Keithy Antoine Performance of Banzawa band Ticket phone: (514) 861-4036 Join the Facebook...

Read More

FRO Foundation is proud to present “Fro-Academy: Like Mother … Like Daughter “. A workshop where all children and adult are invited to learn new skills, develop their skills and share tips on their loops . Sunday, October 6th as part of 12th month of Creole in Montreal, FRO Foundation and KEPKAA are: FRO Academy: Like Mother … Like Daughter Given by Abisara Machold workshop InHairitance Sunday, October 6th at 13h Library of St. Michel 7601, rue François-Perrault, Montreal QC admission: $ 5 per child & per adult Join the Facebook event Antanke yon pati nan 12yèm Mwa Kreyòl nan Monreyal Fondasyon FRO ak KEPKAA ap prezante: FRO Akademi: Tankou manman…Tankou pitit fi Atelye bay pa Abisara Machold de InHairitance Dimanch, 6 Oktòb, 13h Bibliyotèk Saint-Michel 7601, ri François-Perrault, Montreal QC Admisyon: 5$ pou chak timoun ak chak...

Read More
Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On Twitter

Evenements


FRO 2014: Soirée d’ouverture et lancement de l’exposition du 4e mur Obtenez vos billets Rejoignez l’événement sur Facebook Le 4ème mur : Rendre l’invisible visible est une initiative pancanadienne de la Fondation Michaëlle Jean, en collaboration avec plusieurs musées prestigieux et appuyée par le Groupe Banque TD et la fondation FRO. L’objectif est de donner une voix et un profil national aux jeunes créateurs souvent exclus de la société, en leur ouvrant les portes de nos grandes institutions culturelles pour rejoindre un plus large public. Pourquoi le 4e Mur ? Au théâtre, le 4ème mur est un écran imaginaire qui marque virtuellement la séparation entre les acteurs et les spectateurs. La peinture et les arts visuels en général installent, entre l’œuvre et le public, ce même dispositif qui impose une lecture frontale, une évidence qui pourrait bien être qu’une illusion de transparence. Ce que Magritte appelle la trahison des images en peignant une pipe hyperréaliste et en écrivant dans le tableau même : ceci n’est pas une pipe. Une démarche provocante Il y a bien des façons de traverser le 4ème mur et de rendre l’invisible visible. La Fondation Michaëlle Jean a choisi de proposer à des jeunes créateurs de « briser » les murs invisibles qui sont autant de solitudes entre les individus ou les communautés à l’échelle du Canada. Pour cela, la Fondation offre un espace muséal et des bourses à ces jeunes issus de milieux défavorisés et qui sont à l’écart des musées, pour qu’ils produisent une œuvre originale qui exprime leurs vécus, leurs idées et leurs problèmes. Exposées au grand public  ces œuvres provoquent des débats et contribuent à trouver des solutions. Un débat de société Des forums publics, du réseautage et des échanges virtuels sont aussi organisés afin de provoquer et de pérenniser un dialogue autours d’enjeux sociaux soulevés dans les expositions.  Les résultats souvent bousculent les clichés et mettent à l’épreuve les idées reçues, tout en rappelant des valeurs universelles, la justice, la beauté, la liberté, la spiritualité et la marche de l’histoire. De là se dégage l’idéal d’un meilleur vivre ensemble et d’une société solidaire, libérée des chaines des inégalités et des injustices. Le 4e Mur : expositions près de chez vous    Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (MBAM),  Montréal, du 5 février au 30 mars, dans le cadre  du mois de l’Histoire des Noirs et du Festival FRO  2014. Lancement le 5 février à 17 h au 1379, rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montréal.   Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario (AGO), Toronto,été 2014 dans le cadre de la World Pride...

Read More
Festival FRO 2014

Festival FRO 2014


Posted By on janv. 3, 2014

FRO ce concept jeune et innovateur a su créer des ponts entre les cultures et les générations. Compte tenu de l’intérêt suscité par la première édition, la réussite de celle-ci, le clair besoin de partage et d’éducation FRO revient en force avec le festival FRO 2014 et prévoit vous en offrir beaucoup plus. Le Festival FRO 2014 vous est présenté par TD then and now et RAND, en partenariat avec la Fondation Michaelle Jean et le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal. FRO 2014: Soirée d’ouverture Obtenez vos billets Rejoignez l’événement sur Facebook Lancement compilation FRO 2014 + Afua Cooper Obtenez vos billets Rejoignez l’événement sur Facebook Kathleen Cleaver @ FRO 2014 Obtenez vos billets Rejoignez l’événement sur...

Read More

Samedi 7 Decembre @ 13:00 • 12$ @ Blueprint • Metro: Place des arts • Rue 1438 de Bleury, Montreal • Atelier de soin naturel de la peau et consultations personnelles • Atelier d’entretien des cheveux frisés naturels pour l’hiver • Consultations individuelles • Apprenez à nourrir votre peau de l’intérieur vers l’extérieur (nutrition, les herbes et les produits naturels) • Apprenez-en davantage sur les affections cutanées les plus courantes et apprenez à les traiter efficacement naturellement • Apprenez à garder vos cheveux en bonne santé pendant l’hiver. • Consultations du soin de la peau individuelles avec une naturopathe certifiée et experte de la peau • Consultations pour les cheveux individuelles avec une experte boucle et cheveux frisés. • Apprenez à faire votre propre gommage, sérum nourrissant la peau ou exfoliant naturel • Produits de soins naturels de la peau et des cheveux disponibles à l’achat Rejoignez l’évènement sur...

Read More
CONCOURS – LE 4e MUR

CONCOURS – LE 4e MUR


Posted By on oct. 11, 2013

7 BOURSES DE 1500$ Pour les jeunes artistes 17 – 30 ans des communautés noires de Montréal Date limite d’inscription: 30 octobre 2013 Inscriptions, contactez: info@fmjf.ca ou...

Read More

    Présenté par la fondation FRO en collaboration avec La Bonne Bouffe Creole 18h-20h Visite des Kiosque d’exposants +Création en direct par Monk-e +Nourriture Bonne Bouffe Créole 20h-22h30 Présentation documentaire Black Power Mixtape (sous-titre Français) + Vidéo conférence avec TOMMIE SMITH Animé par Keithy Antoine Prestation du groupe Banzawa téléphone billeterie : (514) 861-4036 Rejoignez l’évènement sur...

Read More

La fondation FRO est fière de présenter « Fro-Académie : Telle Mère… Telle Fille ». Un atelier où tous, petit(e)s et grand(e)s sont invité(e)s à apprendre de nouvelles techniques, à développer leur savoir-faire et à échanger des conseils pratiques sur leurs boucles . Dimanche 6 octobre dans le cadre du 12ème mois du créole à Montréal, la Fondation FRO et le KEPKAA présentent: FRO Académie: Telle Mère… Telle Fille Atelier donné par Abisara Machold de InHairitance Dimanche 6 octobre à 13h Bibliothèque de Saint-Michel 7601, rue François-Perrault, Montreal QC Admission : 5$ par enfant & par adulte Rejoignez l’évènement sur Facebook Antanke yon pati nan 12yèm Mwa Kreyòl nan Monreyal Fondasyon FRO ak KEPKAA ap prezante: FRO Akademi: Tankou manman…Tankou pitit fi Atelye bay pa Abisara Machold de InHairitance Dimanch, 6 Oktòb, 13h Bibliyotèk Saint-Michel 7601, ri François-Perrault, Montreal QC Admisyon: 5$ pou chak timoun ak chak...

Read More
Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On Twitter