HISTORY


The FRO Foundation is a nonprofit whose registration was held in Montreal on August 8, 2012. It is February 2013 that the first compilation of the foundation was born. The FRO is a compilation work involving more than 20 artists from here and abroad. Artists who have made a significant contribution to FRO 2013 festival.

In collaboration with TD then and now and Band, FRO Foundation presented at L’Astral, the FRO 2013 Festival. Festival that has attracted media attention throughout the month of February. Musical performances, live painting and conferences were at the rendezvous.

The festivities were opened along with the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean and her husband, the philosopher and filmmaker Jean-Daniel Lafond. Subsequently, the foundation had the honor to receive the conference very talented Jenny Salgado and historian, Jean Saint-Vil. To close the first edition of a colorful festival, Montreal had the chance to receive none other than the legendary Angela Davis. Applause and attic room, FRO 2013 was undoubtedly a major and highly successful event.

FRO this young and innovative concept has created bridges between cultures and generations.

The Festival FRO came back strong in 2014, at the Museum of Fine Arts. In addition to launching the compilation FRO 2014, took place the launch of the exhibition “the fourth wall” in collaboration with the foundation Michaëlle Jean and the Museum of Fine Arts in Montreal. The exhibition brought together eight young Montreal artists who, following a competition received a cash prize of $ 1,500 to create a work inspired by the permanent collection of the Museum of Fine Arts in Montreal. FRO has received in 2014 during his evenings, The Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean Daniel Lafond, Dr. Afua Cooper and the charismatic Kathleen Cleaver. Nearly 300 people attended the meeting every evening.

For 2015 years, is the large library of the Montreal festival FRO made you vibrate.

It is now international, with a first festival in Guyana French, and a future in Gabon, that we will continue together the explorations of our origins.

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On Twitter

HISTOIRE


La fondation FRO est un organisme à but non lucratif dont l’immatriculation a eu lieu à Montréal le 8 aout 2012. C’est en février 2013 que la première compilation de la fondation a vu le jour. La compilation FRO est une œuvre regroupant plus de 20 artistes d’ici et d’ailleurs. Artistes qui ont d’ailleurs grandement contribué au festival FRO 2013.

En collaboration avec TD then and now et Band, la fondation FRO a présenté à L’Astral , le Festival FRO 2013 . Festival qui a su retenir l’attention des médias tout au long du mois de février. Prestations musicales, peinture en direct et conférences étaient au rendez-vous.

Les festivités furent ouvertes en compagnie de la très honorable Michaëlle Jean et de son mari le philosophe et cinéaste Jean-Daniel Lafond. Par la suite, la fondation eut l’honneur de recevoir en conférence la très talentueuse Jenny Salgado ainsi que l’historien, M. Jean Saint-Vil. Pour clôturer la première édition d’un festival haut en couleur, Montréal a eu la chance de ne recevoir nul autre que la légendaire Angela Davis. Applaudissements et salle combles, FRO 2013 fut sans contredit un évènement d’envergure et un franc succès.

FRO ce concept jeune et innovateur a su créer des ponts entre les cultures et les générations. Compte tenu de l’intérêt suscité par la première édition, la réussite de celle-ci, le clair besoin de partage et d’éducation.

Le Festival FRO 2014 est revenu en force, au musée des Beaux-Arts. En plus du lancement de la compilation FRO 2014, a eu lieu le lancement de l’exposition « le 4e Mur » en collaboration avec la fondation Michaëlle Jean et le Musée des Beaux-Arts de Montréal. L’exposition regroupait 8 jeunes artistes montréalais, qui, suite à un concours reçurent une bourse de 1500$ pour créer une œuvre inspirée de la collection permanente, du musée des beaux-arts de Montréal. FRO a reçu en 2014 lors de ses soirées, La très honorable Michaëlle Jean- Daniel Lafond, Dr Afua Cooper ainsi que la très charismatique Kathleen Cleaver. Près de 300 personnes étaient présentes au rendez-vous chaque soir.

Pour cette année 2015, c’est à la grande bibliothèque de Montreal que le festival FRO vous a fait vibrer.

C’est maintenant à l’international, avec un premier festival en Guyane Francaise, et un prochain au Gabon, que nous poursuivrons ensemble l’explorations de nos origines.

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On Twitter